Skip to main content
DistrictCampusDirectory
CAMPUS

Jesi Young's Profile

Name:

Jesi Young

ELA Teacher

profile pic

Contact Info:

Email:

jesimorrison@jayps.org

Conference Times:

10:15 a.m -10:50 a.m.

Class Room Number:

10

About Me

Educational History:

I am a 2003 graduate of Jay High School. I attended Vo-tech while in high school and the year following graduation and then later decided to go to college. I graduated in 2013 from Grand Canyon University and graduated May 2020 from Arkansas State University. 

Degrees and Certifications:

Certificate in Business Technology

Certificate in Business Management 

Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education with an emphasis in English 

Master of Science in Education Curriculum and Instruction

Professional Development:

College Board Pre-AP Summer Institute for Middle School 

College Board 2 day Workshop AP Lit and Comp

AVID Reading

Teach Like a Rockstar

OSTP Item Writing Committee

OSTP Item Review Committee

Solution Tree PLC at Work Institute

Google Training

MSELA Summit 2020

Current Position:

This is my 8th year of teaching! I have taught middle school my entire teaching career and love it! This is my third year at JMS and this year I am teaching 7th Grade ELA, 7th Grade ELA Honors and Mythology. I also will be sponsoring the Mid School Gifted and Talented and Quiz Bowl. 

Previous Position:

I started teaching in 2013 at Grove Middle School and taught there for 5 school years. I taught 7th grade ELA, 7th Grade Pre AP Literature, 8th Grade ELA, Creative Writing and Gifted and Talented. I also sponsored the Academic Team and National Junior Honor Society. 

 

Family Information:

My husband, Eric, and I live out in the country with our two boys who are in the upper and high schools. Our family has two more boys who live in Missouri; boy mom life! 

We have a lovely canine fur child, Piper and a fur feline child, Ambrose.   

 

Personal Information:

 

I love to read and write in my free time. My family and I garden in the Spring/Summer. It is so much fun taking something from a seed and seeing it turn into a beautiful plant or food plant. 

I enjoy listening to live music very much and also love spending time with my sister, brother-in-law, nephew and my parents. I love finding a good series on Netflix or baking new dishes. Fun fact: I am in the process of learning Russian!